Puff Puff is one of my favorite Nigerian snacks. I was nicknamed puff puff as a child because I ate so much of it. It is very delicious and it is very respected in the hierarchy of small chops. Served at events such as birthdays, weddings or baby dedications, it is very difficult to find a  find any individual who isn’t inlove with puff.

I would be giving out the recipe for my sensational puff puff which I fondly call #bibispuff.

IMG-20190302-WA0004

Ingredients

  • 500g Plain Flour
  • 3dl  Forever bee honey
  • Vegetable Oil
  • 400ml Lukewarm Water
  • 7g Fast Action Yeast
  • 1 Teaspoon Vanilla Essence (Optional)
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Nutmeg (Optional)
  • 1/2 Teaspoon Salt

IMG-20181226-WA0025

Preparation

  • I mixed all the dried ingredients together including my special forever bee honey – My yeast is also the dried yeast, while i added water gradually.
  • Mix thoroughly
  • Add the Vanilla
  • I use my right hand to mix but  you can use a whisk or hand mixer.
  • If you’re using a hand mixer, try not to over beat the batter
  • Now, cover tight with a lid so as to prevent air from getting in and keep it in a dark cool place
  • Allow to rise for 45 minute to 1 hour
  • When it is risen, take it out and set aside
  • Now, pour the oil into a deep pan, at least 3 inches deep
  • place on medium heat
  • Scoop the batter into the oil, you can either use an ice cream scoop or just use your hand. Do not over crowd the pan
  • Fry till golden brown

Note!!!

  • Ensure you use lukewarm water so the yeast gets activated. Hot water or cold water will kill the yeast
  • The mixture consistency shouldn’t be too thick or watery, it has to be in between.
  • Do not fry on high heat or you will end up with puff puff cooked on the outside and not on the inside. If you notice the pan is too hot, please reduce heat
  • Remember to turn the puff puff over to allow for even frying. Often times, the puff puff will turn on their own though, each batch should take roughly 6-8 minutes to fry.

Endeavour to send me pictures of your puff puff when it is done, I would like to see yours done.

Love!!!!

Bibi

Follow me on Instagram @beebi2404 for more recipes